Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

…introduce you to Cazcarra London, the suppliers of the number one Spanish make up brand TEN IMAGE Cosmetics & Skincare and from this day on my sponsor!

From eyeliners and mascara to face care, brushes and even a small range they have selected for men…. Cazcarra London has it all! In the near future you’ll also be able to sign up for workshops, trainings and hire professional make up kits.

Professional or not, I’m sure you’ll enjoy a trip to their website, they have something for everyone.

Get your inspiration for your Christmas reception or New Years Eve make up from the Femme Fatale Collection: http://cazcarralondon.com/mini_sites/femme_fatale/index.html
and some tips and tricks for stunning eyes on a school day can be found here: http://www.cazcarralondon.com/contents/en-uk/d126_Get_The_Looks.html

And last but not least their new Midnight Secrets Limited Edition Collection: http://cazcarralondon.com/contents/en-uk/d158_midnight-secrets-collection-christmas-2011.html

… go on an exhibition trip, starting with “The first actresses” at the National Portrait Gallery.
Showcasing paintings of the pioneering actresses of the 17th and 18th century, I was truly intrigued by this exhibition: it’s the first time these paintings are actually displayed and they’re painted by some of Britain’s greatest painters of that time. Having your portrait painted is totally opposite from the way artists get promoted these days – no websites, magazines and interviews, no 10000 flyers… Nope, a portrait. One single painting. Of course it was about showing their status to friends and families not about promoting the hell out of a new production of The Merchant of Venice.
To complement this exhibition there is a so called “fringe” exhibition called “The actress now” which surprisingly is about contemporary actresses. Here you’ll find paintings of Dame Judi Dench and Dame Helen Mirren, to name some, but also portraits of some new talents.

After my visit to the NPG I’d continue my exhibition trip, next stop: Somerset House. Somerset House is one of those many places I’ve actually never been to, yet. And I so wanna go!!! And as we speak, there’s 2 amazing exhibitions I would love to visit: “Forgotten Spaces” and “Amazon” .
Starting with “Forgotten Spaces” as I’m a bit obsessed with city life, architecture and especially the contrast of old and new (buildings) in London. My fantasy takes the lead the moment I see an old factory or hospital in the heart of the East End and already I’ve turned it into this multi-functional space where living, environment, people, art and history come together. Uhuh… At the same time I’m ever so happy when I discover another forest-like park in the Old Smoke. So to say that “Forgotten Spaces” is up my alley is… eeerr… an understatement? For this exhibition an “open ideas competition run by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)” was held, resulting in all kind of proposals for overlooked and neglected spaces in Greater London. It’s a sneak peak of what London might look like in 20 years or so. I hope it involves a lot of green spaces, sustainable houses and cosy-come-together-hot-spots…
The second exhibition at Somerset House would be “Amazon”. This exhibition is in aid of the Sky Rainforest Rescue and shows photos of the beautiful Amazonian Rainforest and the people living within it on one side and the reality of deforestation on the other side. Something everybody should see to understand the seriousness of what’s going on.

From Somerset House I would head down to Sadie Coles (on New Burlington place, just around the corner from that on big store with the dancing staff and the overdose of fragrance) to see the works of Hillary Lloyd. A friend of mine recommended this exhibition and as I’m always up for something new I decided to have a look at the website. It’s modern, it’s interesting, it’s digital and contemporary. Some images have the same effect on me as looking at clouds has – every second I can see something different in it.
And whilst exploring the website of Sadie Coles, I discovered another exhibition currently showing: Christiana Soulou’s Les Enfants Terrible, an exhibition of beautiful sketch-like art which for some reason transports me a few century’s back in time when I look at it… But I can’t put a finger on why it does that to me. It’s subtle, it’s beautiful. This exhibition can be found in Sadie Coles HQ which is only 5 minutes away from Sadie Coles without the addiction of HQ, on South Audley Street.

“The first actresses”, until January 8th 2012.
National Portrait Gallery
www.npg.org.uk/whatson/the-first-actresses/first_actresses_exhibition.php

“Forgotten Spaces”, until January 29th 2012
“Amazon”, until December 4th 2011
Somerset House
http://www.somersethouse.org.uk/events

Hilary Lloyd
Sadie Coles, 4 New Burlington place
November 16th – December 21th 2011, Tuesday – Saturday, 11 – 6 pm

Christiana Soulou – Les Enfants Terrible
Sadie Coles HQ, 69 South Audley Street
November 2nd – December 21st 2011, Tuesday – Saturday, 10 – 6 pm

http://www.sadiecoles.com/current-exhibitions.html

… enjoy a trip on the tube all the way down to Wimbledon to go to one of the Wimbledon Music Festival concerts. And I’d especially look forward to “Noye’s Fludde”, a medieval Chester Miracle Play – the story of Noah’s Ark – set to music by Benjamin Britten. It’s a community opera; this might scare the hell out of some of you – “Community? Amateurs, I’m off!” – but read the information of the website and I think you might get as thrilled as I am. There’s an enormous number of people actually performing, there’s ballet dancers and a cooperation with the Wimbledon College of Art. I think it sounds amazing. I think it will be very professional. I think you should just go and try it, just for once. ‘Cause I know that going to a community project performance is on your secret to do list.

Wimbledon Music Festival, 12 – 27 November 2011
www.wimbledonmusicfestival.co.uk
Noye’s Fludde
Monday 21 November 8.00 pm
Tuesday 22 November 8.00 pm
Sacred Heart, Edge Hill SW19 4LU
Tickets to Noye’s Fludde are £28 – £23 – £15

For those who are curious to find out more about the Wimbledon College of Arts:
http://www.wimbledon.arts.ac.uk/

… visit the Clifton Nurseries, London’s oldest nursery which celebrates it’s 160th anniversary this year – wow! That’s 160 years of knowledge on everything plant and flower related; the right place for me to go with no talent to keep plants alive. Who knows they might be able to teach me how take care of a beautiful plant. If not, I’ll just go there to enjoy an afternoon tea with a friend.

http://www.clifton.co.uk/nursery/index.asp

"How much do I love London...?"

 

 

 

 

 

 

…get stuck in! In what? The London Orchard Project!
This is one of those project that you sometimes come across and that puts a huge smile on your face from the moment you’ve read the first line.
The London Orchard Project plants new community (yes, again, the C-word… can’t help it – I love it!) orchards, rejuvenates neglected orchards and shows Londoners that even a city can produce delicious fruits. It’s inspirational – I immediately wanted to create my own private orchard, in an Amsterdam 1st floor with no balcony –, it’s needed, it fits into my idea of how to take care of your surroundings, it’s fun.
Yep, I’d sign up as a volunteer – if only I lived in London. Would you?

On Sunday 4th December you can join a Medlar workshop, organised by People’s Kitchen Hackney and The London Orchard Project. Curious to find out what’s a Medlar and how to sign up for this workshop? See link to the website below.

www.thelondonorchardproject.org

… spend a couple of hours in the Twinings Tea Museum – even though it’s small I’m sure you could leave me there and pick me up 5 hours later, delighted and full of tea. This cute little museum is located at the back of the little Twinings tea shop on The Strand, which is the original flagship store of Thomas Twining himself, opened in 1717! It’s said that Jane Austen and Charles II were among Mr. Twining’s regular costumers.

Twinings, 216 Strand, London, WC2R 1AP
Monday – Friday, 8.30am – 7.30pm
Saturday, 10am – 5pm
Sunday, 10am – 4pm

http://shop.twinings.co.uk/shop/
Enjoy London!!

