Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Santa Claus is coming to town! Yes, true that! But firstly me, myself and I is coming to town… (now what is more exciting?!) So thank you Boris for having the Christmas lights lit in time for my arrival. Lovely. It’s highly appreciated.

On a serious note: massive to-do-list to tick off when in London! Lots of Christmassy things to do, but Christmas-haters fear not! I thought about you as well. Curious about what I would and am gonna do when in London? Read the written below and join in!

If I were in London right now, I’d…..

… jump off the Eurostar at St. Pancras and put my wish list under the Lego Christmas tree, first thing. “Dear Santa, I hereby present you my wish list….” Who’s greedy?

… organise my own Christmas-Fair-Hop-On-Hop-Off tour. Christmas-shopping to be done, so where better to go then some good old Christmas Fairs with a Vintage, 2011 or Charity twist? Do I love a bit of an English Christmas… Whilst happily humming along with “I’m dreaming of a British Christmas” I’d go from East to West to South and North. Here some of my favourites:

The Water Poet Christmas Fair

Saturday December 10th, from midday until 7pm (entree free)

Water Poet’s fair includes the Courtyard Christmas Market, baked goodies a brass band and so much more!! And….. at their Underground Picture house they show Christmas films all day long, with some of the best ever (this being my opinion): The Snowman and A Muppet Christmas Carol. That’s where you’d find me if suddenly I disappeared.

Nearest tube station: Liverpool Street
http://www.waterpoet.co.uk/

The Victorian Evening

Richmond, December 2nd.

You can go dressed up as a Dicken’s character for instance, but if you don’t like that then don’t!

http://www.thevictoriafoundation.org.uk/admin/files/THE%20VICTORIAN%20EVENING%20Poster%20final.pdf

Winter Fair

Although called Winter Fair, Morley College’s Winter Fair is the perfect addition to my Christmas-Fair-Hop-On-Hop-Off tour with it’s mince pies, book stalls and Santa’s Grotto.

Sunday December 4th, 11.30am – 3.30pm.

Nearest tube station: Lambeth North (Bakerloo line) http://www.morleycollege.ac.uk/news_and_events/events/show/751_morley_winter_fair

Spitalfields Christmas Vintage Fair

Need I say more?

10th December, 12pm-5pm.

Christchurch, Commercial Street.
Nearest tube: Liverpool street
http://www.thevintageguidetolondon.com/spitalfields-christmas-vintage-fair/

The Social Christmas Market

3, 10 and 17 December

A quirky but cosy fair with lot’s of music, my favourite (London) maps for sale, Bloody Maries and more….
http://www.thesocial.com/2011/11/the-christmas-market-is-back/

… hunt the flake and more such things at The Design Museum’s Friday Overtime. If you feel like hunting snow flakes or making Christmas tree baubles (why am I in Amsterdam right now?!) hurry down to http://designmuseum.org/design-overtime to get your ticket! It’s tomorrow night guys, you wouldn’t want to miss this… I wouldn’t, I mean.

Friday, December 2nd, 6 – 10 pm
Tickets are £7.50 in advance and the night is free for members.
Ticket includes entry to all current exhibitions!
Find the Design Museum on Twitter @DesignMuseum

… indulge myself (…or rather “stuff” myself – someone stop me!) together with my chocolate loving friends at the London Chocolate Festival. This festival was invented and is organised by Yael Rose who LOVES chocolate and describes herself as a “passionate enthusiast” and let there be no mistake: she’s no “chocolate snob”! No, if you share your love for chocolate by organising a festival, you’re no snob, you’re dedicated. And all choco-lovers should thank Yael for all time and energy invested in this joyful festival.
For everything chocolate (do we mind? No, we don’t.), head down to the South Bank Centre. What you expect from a Chocolate Festival you’ll get and even more: grab the chance to learn about the many health benefits of raw chocolate for instance!! Chocolate, it can’t get better than this….
I’ve signed up for Club Chocolate, will you?

Oh, and admission’s free – seriously!

Chocolate Festival
Southbank Centre, 9th – 11th of December
Friday and Saturday 11am-8pm
Sunday 11am-6pm
http://www.festivalchocolate.co.uk/
or Twitter
@TheChocFestival

For information on the location: www.southbankcentre.co.uk or Twitter @southbankcentre

… go to Selfridges on Wednesday the 7th and no, this time not for Christmas shoppings. I’d go there to hear singers from ENO’s Opera Works training programme sing pieces from popular opera’s. This is part of Selfridges “Christmas Comes Early” festivities and you can behold this special event between 12 – 4 pm in the Wonder Room – which I think sounds very mysterious. I wonder, what’s a Wonder Room? Suggestions on a postcard to undersigned.

ENO standing for English National Opera by the way.

… go to some theatre shows that are fun for all ages. At this time of year I love cosy get togethers and theatre shows for the family even more. But why? … Not sure. What I do know for sure is that I think this is the perfect time to go visit Matilda at the Cambridge Theatre. For those who think “Matilda? Why does she want to see that one special friend at this time of year?” – no, Matilda is not a friend, it’s Mr Dahl’s book-turned-into-play. And you can’t get me more excited: Matilda is one of my old time favs and it’s exactly what I feel like watching at this very moment!

If you haven’t read the book or just don’t like the thought of seeing it on stage, how about The Lion King? I’ve once seen it from backstage, which wasn’t ideal. So visiting The Lion King in London is still to be ticked off my London-list. It’s a musical, yes that’s right. But oh boy, it is one spectacular musical! And don’t we all love the story of Simba and Nala? And Timon and Pumba not to forget? Hakuna Mattata, get yourself a pair of tickets and off to the Lyceum Theatre you go!

… do some more Christmas-shopping on Saturday the 10th of December. Because on the 10th of December it’s Shop West End VIP Day with VIP standing for Very Important Pedestrian. Sounds good, doesn’t it?

We all know Regent Street and Oxford Street and to be honest, we rather don’t wanna think of shopping there – yes, I can read minds – with tons of fellow-shoppers bumping into you with a greedy look showing on their faces. And ok, some love it and yes Regent Street is beautiful and certainly has it’s charm. Although that’s difficult to see when you’re just run over by a hysterical tourist looking for A&F, or through the thick mist caused by the thousands of cabs and buses.

But, let’s focus on the charm-side of the street. What would you say if I told you there’s an opportunity to shop on Regent Street (and Oxford Street) without being bothered by traffic? Can you actually imagine these two enormous streets without the traffic? Just empty? No buses, no cabs. Not even the incidental cyclist. No, you can’t. But I tell you it’s gonna happen, December 10th.

That’s your Christmas-shopping easily done. Shopping as it should be!

And to make it even more fun there’s theatre and other kinds of entertainment to keep the husbands and kids entertained while the women shop ’till they drop.

… definitely visit the Ebay Pop Up Store on Dean Street, Soho. The pop up store will be open for 5 days only, during Ebay’s busiest period: December 1st – 5th. In this Ebay Shop 200 best sellers will be sold! Note: the products in the shop will be on display and payments can only be done via your ebay account.

… dance to some proper Gypsy Beats at the Twisted Gypsy Christmas Special. Gypsy Hill DJ’s Kobayashi and Herbert Newbert will be there to let you move your feet – nice beats guaranteed!

Twisted Gypsy Christmas Special @ Inspiral Lounge, Camden
Friday December 16th, 8pm – 2am, free entree
http://www.inspiralled.net/events/upcoming-events/1042-friday-december-16th-twisted-gypsy-christmas-special

… explore the Winter Music festival in Spitalfields. Music from all genres; for those who know me, I’m exploring the jazz and folk program. But you all should definitely have a look yourself. Lots and lots of lovely unexpected projects – if you live or work in Spitalfields and surroundings, you simply can’t be to busy: they even have lunch time events – neighbourhood singing and of course, MUSIC!

Winter Music festival
10 – 20 December 2011
http://www.spitalfieldsmusic.org.uk/index.php?pfid=20

… sign up for the Medlar workshop as mentioned in my last blog. This workshop will be held on Sunday 4th December, organised by People’s Kitchen Hackney and The London Orchard Project. So for all of you who still don’t know what a medlar is: see link to the website below.

www.thelondonorchardproject.org

… take you to the Positive Runway – London Global Catwalk on the 2nd of December. The Positive Runway is a very special event to mark World AIDS Day 2011. But, I’ll have to be honest: not only would I go there because it’s for a very good cause. Another reason for me to go is the fact that Ten Image is the official make up sponsor of this mega event. Well done guys, exciting times ahead!

Positive Runway will be “a red carpet event combining Fashion, Music, Theatre and Film Screening with Positive Runway’s signature Red Ribbon Models® walking the Runway”. Well, if that isn’t a major happening I don’t know what is…

Because I won’t be in London on the 2nd of December I think you should go in my place! Support a good cause and support my friends – two birds in one shot.

Where to go for the Positive Runway:
Boothroyd Hall, Castle Green Conference Centre, Essex (Essex isn’t London I know, but for Ten Image and Cazcarra I happily cheat a little).

http://www.positiverunway.org/

For tickets to the
Positive Runway: http://www.eventbrite.com/org/1613935012

This is not the only Ten Image and Cazcarra news I bring you this month my much loved readers…. Oh no, there’s more!

Ten Image Professionals is looking for professional bloggers and vloggers (for those who see lots of question marks right now: a vlogger is a video blogger!) with interest in beauty and make up, for upcoming Ten Image events. So if this sounds like music to your ears, follow this link and fill in the form:

http://cazcarralondon.com/web/bloggers-event-reg/

If live vlogging is not for you, not to worry for here is a last Cazcarra/Ten Image related mention. If you’re looking for a nice Christmas present (for yourself or….well for someone else) why not some make up? I always feel so happy when I have purchased new and exciting make up, just for me! And here’s what makes it even more fun: there is a fabulous offer on Cazcarra’s Limited Edition Midnight Secret Collection. No joke!!

Have a look here and see it for yourself: http://cazcarralondon.com/web/tess/

It could be the perfect addition to your own make up kit and I’m sure it would make you the star of that exquisite NYE party…

TEN IMAGE MAKEUP - CAZCARRA LONDON


For those who used to think London’s a bore – I proved you wrong, haven’t I??

Enjoy Bloody London and to my London friends I’d say: see you in a weeks time!

